CWSS Staff

Research Faculty

Dr. Mohamed Ahmed photo

Mohamed Ahmed, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Geology - Geophysics
Office: NRC 3102
Lab: NRC 3108
Telephone: (361) 825-3278
Fax: (361) 825-3355
mohamed.ahmed@tamucc.edu
Website: Ahmed Geophysics Lab

Dr. Joseph David Felix photo

Joseph David Felix, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Environmental Chemistry
Office: NRC 3202
Lab: SL2
Telephone: (361) 825-4180
joseph.felix@tamucc.edu
Website: Felix Research Group

Dr. Valeriu Murgulet photo

Valeriu Murgulet, Ph.D.
Professional Assistant Professor of Geology - Geochemistry
Office: CS 205
Telephone: (361) 825-6050
Fax: (361) 825-3345
valeriu.murgulet@tamucc.edu

Research Staff

Cody Lopez

Cody Lopez, M.S. Environmental Sciences
Laboratory Manager & Geology Adjunct - Murgulet Hydro Lab
CMSS PhD student (start: Fall 2023)
Research Interests: hydrogeology, shallow coastal aquifer systems, geochemistry, mineralogy, subterranean estuaries, gardening
Started: Fall 2023
Office: NRC 3100.1
cody.lopez@tamucc.edu

 

Audrey Douglas photo

Audrey R. Douglas, Ph.D. Coastal and Marine System Science 
NRT STAGES Program Manager
Adjunct Faculty
Research Interests: groundwater-surface water interactions, ecohydrology, freshwater inflows, nutrient cycling
Graduated: Fall 2020
Office: NRC 3102
audrey.douglas@tamucc.edu

Mustafa Eissa photo
Mustafa Eissa, Ph.D.
Research Associate - Murgulet Hydro Lab
eissa.mustafa@tamucc.edu
Roya Narinami photo
Roya Narimani, Ph.D. Water Resources and Coastal Engineering
Postdoctoral Research Associate - Murgulet Hydro Lab
Research Interests: machine learning, hydrology, remote sensing, GIS
Office: NRC 3104
roya.narimani@tamucc.edu
Amir Ismail photo
Amir Ismail, Ph.D.
Fullbright postdoctoral scholar - Ahmed Geophysics Lab
Research interests: Seismic data analysis, seismic attributes, AVO, rock physics, petroleum geology, machine learning in subsurface imaging
Office: NRC 2505
amir.ismail@tamucc.edu
photo of Joy Brown

Joy Brown
Research Assistant - Murgulet Hydrogeology Lab
Research interests: marine sciences and hydrogeology
Start date: Spring 2023
Graduated: Summer 2023
jbrown30@islander.tamucc.edu 

Graduate Students

Ramadan Abdelrehim photo

Ramadan Abdelrehim, PhD student
Graduate Research Assistant - Ahmed Geophysics Lab
Start date: Fall 2021
Research interests: Integrated remote sensing, GIS, and geophysical approaches to improve water harvesting in coastal watersheds of southern Marsa Alam, Egypt
rabdelrehim@islander.tamucc.edu

Ifeanyi Emmanuel Anyanwu
Ifeanyi Anyanwu, PhD student
Graduate Research Assistant - Murgulet Hydro Lab
Start date: Fall 2023
Research interests: Assessing the impacts of extreme wet events on groundwater pollution in unincorporated coastal communities
ianyanwu1@islander.tamucc.edu
photo of Laura Button next to research poster
Laura Button, MS Student
Graduate Research Assistant - Murgulet Hydrogeology Lab
Start date: Summer 2023
Research interests: water quality and access in colonias communities
Project: DISES
Honors, Awards, & Affiliations: NRT STAGES cohort 2
lbutton1@islander.tamucc.edu 
Meghan Bygate photo
Meghan Bygate, MS student
Graduate Research Assistant - Ahmed Geophysics Lab
Start date: Fall 2022
Research interests: utilizing Landsat 8 and ECOSTRESS remote sensing data to generate hydrologic data (salinity, temperature, turbidity, chlorophyll-a) for Matagorda Bay, Texas
mbygate@islander.tamucc.edu
Ahmed Eid
Ahmed Eid, PhD Student
Graduate Research Assistant - Murgulet Hydrogeology Lab
Start date: Spring 2023
Research interests: hydrogeology
Honors, Awards, & Affiliations: NRT STAGES cohort 2, SAGE scholarship
aeid@islander.tamucc.edu 
Muhamed Elshalkany photo

Muhamed Elshalkany, MS student
Graduate Research Assistant - Ahmed Geophysics Lab
Start date: 
Research interests: 
melshalkany@islander.tamucc.edu

Abril Garcia Lunar photo
Abril Garcia Lunar, Chemistry MS student
Graduate Research Assistant - Felix Lab
Start date:
Research Interests: Spatial and temporal NOx trends in an urban coastal air shed and NO2 deposition to and urban coastal watershed
agarcialunar@islander.tamucc.edu
Allyson Girard standing in front of the Orbitrap-MS
Allyson Girard, CMSS PhD student
Graduate Research Assistant - Felix Lab
Start date: Fall 2023
Research Interests: Orbitrap stable isotope method development
Honors, Awards, & Affiliations: NRT STAGES cohort 2
allyson.girard@tamucc.edu 
Conner Guidry photo
Connor Guidry, Chemistry MS Student
Graduate Research Assistant - Felix Lab
Start date:
Research Interests: Criteria air pollutant monitoring for the City of Corpus. ​Fence line NOx monitoring. Particulate matter nitrate source apportionment in an urban coastal airshed.
cguidry@islander.tamucc.edu 
Sean Majors photo
Sean Majors, MS student
Graduate Research Assistant - Murgulet Hydrogeology Lab
Start date: Fall 2022
Research interests: water quality, taking down the patriarchy
smajors1@islander.tamucc.edu
Skylar Meehan
Skylar Meehan, MS student
Graduate Research Assistant - Murgulet Hydrogeology Lab
Start date: Summer 2022
Research interests: submarine groundwater discharge
Honors, Awards, & Affiliations: NRT STAGES cohort 1
smeehan@islander.tamucc.edu
Mohamed Mousa photo
Mohamed Abdrabou Mousa, PhD student
Graduate Research Assistant - Ahmed Geophysics Lab
Start date: Fall 2022
Research interests: geophysics
mmousa@islander.tamucc.edu 
Jessica Myers photo
Jessica Myers, MS student
Graduate Research Assistant - C-HAWQ Lab
Start date:
Research interests:
jmyers5@islander.tamucc.edu
Ahmed Omar photo

Ahmed Omar, PhD student
Graduate Research Assistant - Ahmed Geophysics Lab
Start date: Fall 2022
Research interests: using GIS techniques and ECOSTRESS thermal data to map growth fault systems in Corpus Christi Bay
aomar1@islander.tamucc.edu

Kaiya Shealy next to poster
Kaiya Shealy, Chemistry MS student
Graduate Research Assistant - Felix Lab
Start date: 
Research interests: Criteria air pollutant monitoring for the City of Corpus. Determining NOx emission source inventory and photochemical dynamics in Corpus Christi. 
kshealy@islander.tamucc.edu

Undergraduate Students

Izzy Head (photo unavailable)
Kirsten Aguilar
Undergraduate Intern - Murgulet Hydrogeology Lab
Major:
Start date: Spring 2024
Research interests:
Clarissa Garcia photo
Clarissa Garcia (she/her)
Undergraduate Research Assistant - Murgulet Hydrogeology Lab
Major: Environmental Science
Start date: Spring 2024
Research interests: Hydrogeology, tectonics, geophysics, topography, and sustainable energy
Projects: DISES
Izzy Head (photo unavailable)
Sarah Martinez
Undergraduate Volunteer - Murgulet Hydrogeology Lab
Major:
Start date: Spring 2024
Research interests:
Izzy Head (photo unavailable)
Sofia Miatello
Undergraduate Research Assistant - Felix Lab
Major:
Start date:
Projects: NOx emission flux from natural sources
Karol Ramirez-Prado photo

Karol Ramirez-Prado
Undergraduate Research Assistant - Murgulet Hydrogeology Lab
Major: Geology (Geochemistry)
Start date: Summer 2023
Research interests: geochemistry, paleoclimatology, cryosphere and arctic studies
Honors, Awards, Affiliations: McNair Scholar

Jsera Reed photo
Jsera Reed
Undergraduate Research Assistant - Murgulet Hydrogeology Lab
Major: Environmental Science
Start date: Spring 2024
Research interests: incident prevention, pollution response, environmental health and safety
Mckenna Reinsch photo
Mckenna Reinsch
Undergraduate Research Assistant - Murgulet Hydrogeology Lab
Major: Environmental Science
Start date: Fall 2023
Research interests: Coastal conservation, biogeochemistry, and marine ecology
Project: Burrowing ghost shrimp with respect to hydrogeologic processes
Hannah Richardson photo
Hannah Richardson
Undergraduate Research Assistant - Murgulet Hydrogeology Lab
Major: Environmental Science
Start date: Spring 2024
Research interests: environmental conservation, GIS, biogeography
photo of Victoria Rivera
Victoria N. Rivera
Undergraduate Research Assistant - Murgulet Hydrogeology Lab
Major: Geology
Start date: Summer 2023
Research interests: sustainable energy, petrochemistry, and geochemical applications in agriculture and geology
Izzy Head (photo unavailable)
Nicky Thompson
Undergraduate Volunteer - Murgulet Hydrogeology Lab
Major:
Start date: Spring 2024
Research interests:
Kate Vasquez photo

Kate Vasquez
Undergraduate Research Assistant - Murgulet Hydrogeology Lab
Major: Environmental Science
Start date: Spring 2024
Research interests: Natural sciences, groundwater, environmental health