Council of Principal Investigators and Research Administrators

The Council of Principal Investigators and Research Administrators (CPIRA) consists of individuals elected to represent Principal Investigators and Research Administrators from members of the Texas A&M University-Corpus Christi research community. The Council is committed to the continued improvement of the research environment for students, faculty, and staff. Specifically, the CPIRA and the faculty and staff it represents, endeavor to work with administration to provide an effective and efficient university organization, to achieve the goal of being nationally recognized and competitive in research, other sponsored activities and teaching.

Goals

  • Serve as a conduit between the administration and the research community.
  • Identify and provide solutions to issues affecting the research enterprise.
  • Meet regularly with administrators via an executive committee.
  • Serve on committees, task forces and advisory groups addressing issues affecting the research community.

Leadership & Executive Committee

Officers of the Council are Council Chair, Vice Chair, and Immediate Past Chair. A CPIRA Coordinator assists with and documents all leadership activities.

An Executive Committee (EC) of seven advises the Council Chair on Council activities. The EC includes the three officers and four Council members that are recommended by the Council Chair.

Michael Starek
Dr. Michael Starek - Chair
NRC 3407
361.825.3978
michael.starek@tamucc.edu
Dr. Sarah Scott
Dr. Ruby Mehrubeoglu - Vice Chair
RFEB 222D
361.825.3378
ruby.mehrubeoglu@tamucc.edu
Dr. Mark Besonen
Dr. Mark Besonen - Immediate Past Chair
HRI 215B
361.825.2043
mark.besonen@tamucc.edu
Erin Hill
Erin Hill - Coordinator
NRC 3215 
361.825.5791
erin.hill@tamucc.edu
Dr. Faye Bruun
Dr. Faye Bruun - Executive Committee Member
ECDC 219J
361.825.2417
faye.bruun@tamucc.edu
Carmen Osier
Carmen Osier - Executive Committee Member
HRI 314.6
361.825.2023
carmen.osier@tamucc.edu
Heather Degrande
Dr. Heather DeGrande - Executive Committee Member
IH 333
361.825.3696
heather.degrande@tamucc.edu
Open Seat
Open Seat- Executive Committee