Since its inception in 1974, the National Spill Control School has continuously expanded its curriculum, incorporating oil spill classes initially, followed by HAZMAT/waste classes in 1980, OSHA HAZWOPER in 1989, and ICS with Spill Management Team training in 1995. Throughout its evolution, the school has garnered commendation for its training programs, culminating in its inclusion in the OIL POLLUTION ACT OF 1990 (OPA90) as a vital training and research hub for the NATIONAL RESPONSE TEAM.

Recognition further ensued from the TEXAS GENERAL LAND OFFICE, first in 1998 for its leadership in safeguarding Texas coastal waters' environmental quality and again in 2007, with the OSPRA Award (Oil Spill Prevention & Response Act) honoring its three decades of service. These acknowledgments underscore the weighty responsibility placed on the National Spill Control School, which it diligently upholds by maintaining the high standards of instruction that have established it as a premier educator in spill response.

The school's engagements encompass a spectrum of spill control activities, including courses in oil spill management, response, and safety, alongside hazardous material/waste management courses aligned with 29 CFR 1910.120 regulations. With a dedicated class calendar, these courses are hosted at Texas A&M University-Corpus Christi, where the school contributes to teaching support and research initiatives within the Environmental Science degree program.

Nestled in the picturesque landscape of Corpus Christi, renowned for its beaches, bays, and abundant sunshine, the National Spill Control School welcomes participants to register for its courses through a convenient online registration process.