Center for Faculty Excellence Committee

Purpose or FunctionThe Center for Faculty Excellence Committee provides advice, feedback, and aid to the Center for Faculty Excellence (CFE) in achieving its mission. The CFE promotes a community for professional growth and development to create a student-centered learning and research environment through collaboration and innovation.  The CFE provides professional development opportunities primarily in the area of teaching and learning, but also in research and service, when appropriate. All committee members will be expected to attend CFE events as they are able and to review applications for the Faculty Development Leave awards each Fall.

Membership: The Director of the Center for Faculty Excellence will serve as chair of the committee.  The voting membership includes one (1) full professor elected from each academic college/school to serve staggered three-year terms.  The Associate Provost and CFE Event Coordinator will also serve on the committee as ex-officio, non-voting members.

ChairDirector, Center for Faculty Excellence

Responsible University Official: Associate Provost

Center for Faculty Excellence Committee Members
Name Unit Represented Term End

Kellie Smith

Director, Center for Faculty Excellence (Chair)


Nikki Changchit

College of Business

May 31, 2024

Lon Seiger

College of Education & Human Development

May 31, 2026

Mark Hartlaub

College of Liberal Arts 

May 31, 2024

Jean Sparks

College of Nursing & Health Sciences 

May 31, 2026

Chuntao Liu

College of Science

May 31, 2025

Ruby Mehrubeoglu

College of Engineering and Computer Science

May 31, 2024

Joe Peña

School of Arts, Media, & Communication

May 31, 2026

Susan Murphy

Associate Provost (ex-officio)



Event Coordinator (ex-officio)


Last Updated: 02/02/2024