Honorary Degree Recommendation Panel

Purpose or Function: The Honorary Degree Recommendation Panel will review nominations for honorary degrees, which are submitted by members of the faculty, administration, or Board of Regents. In reviewing the nominations, the panel will follow the guidelines in system policy 11.07, Granting of Honorary Degrees and university procedure 11.07.99.C0.01, Granting Honorary Degrees. Recommendations from the panel will be forwarded to the President for further review. Honorary degrees must be approved by the Board of Regents.

Membership: The members for this panel are: Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs, the Dean of College of Graduate Studies, the Speaker of the Faculty Senate, a representative from Institutional Advancement appointed by their vice president, and one tenured full professor from each academic college/school appointed by the dean/director.  This panel meets on an "as needed" basis and therefore members do not have term limits.

Chair: Appointed by the Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs

Responsible University Official: Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs

Honorary Degree Recommendation Panel Members
Name Unit Represented Term End

Karen McCaleb

Dean, College of Graduate Studies (Chair)


Clarenda Phillips

Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs


Michelle Hollenbaugh

Faculty Senate Speaker


Kimberly Becerra

Institutional Advancement


Jim Lee

College of Business


Richard Ricard

College of Education & Human Development


Charles Etheridge

College of Liberal Arts


Christina Murphey

College of Nursing & Health Sciences


Ping Jung Tintera

College of Science


Hongwei Hsiao

College of Engineering and Computer Science


Jilissa Cotten

School of Arts, Media, & Communication

Last Updated: 08/23/2023