University Announces Homecoming Banquet Honorees

CORPUS CHRISTI, Texas – The National Islander Alumni Association and Islanders Athletics at Texas A&M University-Corpus Christi have proudly announced their award honorees for the 2019 Homecoming Honors Banquet, taking place Friday, Feb. 8, in the University Center, Anchor Ballroom.

Awards presented that evening include the Distinguished Alumni Awards, Athletic Hall of Honor Inductions and College Achievement Distinctions.

“Homecoming is always an amazing time for our campus,” said Russell Wagner, Executive Director of the National Alumni Association. “The island is always rich with Islander spirit; we get the opportunity to host some amazing events plus we have the privilege of reminiscing with alumni of all generations. But there’s no better way to kick-off the weekend then with this event.”

“On behalf of Islander Athletics, we are thrilled to welcome Ronnie Arrow and Katie Evan into our Hall of Honor,” said Director of Athletics Jon Palumbo. “These outstanding individuals set the standard for excellence here on the Island and laid the foundation for their programs and future student-athletes.”

The 2018 Homecoming Honors Banquet is open to the public and tickets are now available through Ticket prices begin at $35, with tables of eight priced at $350.

The 2019 recipients include:

Distinguished Alumni Awards

  • Distinguished Alumnus: Linda R. Benavides ’88, ’92 – Coastal Bend community advocate and Texas A&M-Corpus Christi Foundation board member;
  • Outstanding Alumnus: Dr. Frances Ufkes ’15 Former Dartmouth College professor and community advocate;
  • Young Alumnus Award: Caitlin Bailey ’12 – Videographer & editor, Global Foundation for Ocean Exploration.

Athletic Hall of Honor Inductions

  • Katie Evans-Sanchez ’04 – Played softball from 2001-2004. Currently holds nine career school records, including career bases, career hits, and extra base hits;
  • Ronnie Arrow – The first head coach in Texas A&M-Corpus Christi men’s basketball history, leading the Islanders for eight seasons, going 134-91 overall. Responsible for the team’s first NCAA tournament birth.

College Achievement Distinctions

  • Patrick Ayarzagoitia ’92 ’11 – College of Nursing and Health Sciences
  • Wayne Fellers ’94 – College of Education and Human Development
  • Anita Reed ’84 ’01 – College of Business
  • Daniel Wagner ’98 – College of Science and Engineering
  • Alisa Hope Wagner ’99 – College of Liberal Arts

For a full list of all alumni-related Homecoming events, visit; or call 361.825.5787.