Sigma Theta Tau International Honor Society to Induct 29 Islander Nursing Students

CORPUS CHRISTI, Texas – A total of 29 new members will be inducted into the Sigma Theta Tau International Honor Society of Nursing on Thursday, Dec. 13, at 7 p.m. in the Performing Arts Center at Texas A&M University-Corpus Christi. The event is free and open to the public with a reception in the lobby to follow the ceremony. 

Each inductee will receive a lavender and white honorary cord, along with an inductee ribbon from Eta Omicron Chapter officers. Twenty-nine inductees will receive a Bachelor of Science in Nursing.

The keynote address will feature Dr. Tammy McGarity, DNP, MSN, RN, NEA-BC, a visiting assistant professor who teaches Population Health Nursing and Health Systems Leadership in the College of Nursing and Health Sciences (CONHS) at Texas A&M-Corpus Christi. McGarity will share her journey in nursing leadership.

Membership in the nursing honor society consists of undergraduate and graduate students, as well as nurse leaders from the community. New inductees meet the requirements of academic success, academic integrity, professionalism and leadership potential.  

The mission of the only honorary society in nursing is to advance world health and celebrate nursing excellence in scholarship, leadership, and service. Eta Omicron is the local chapter of Sigma Theta Tau International. It was chartered in 1984 by many CONHS faculty members at Texas A&M-Corpus Christi.