Island University Celebrates Scholarship, Leadership, and Service with Sigma Theta Tau Induction

CORPUS CHRISTI, Texas – Possession of professionalism, leadership potential, academic success, and integrity are the requirements individuals must meet to become part of the Sigma Theta Tau International Honor Society of Nursing. On Aug. 2, a total of 35 undergraduates, four graduates, one doctoral student, and one community nurse leader were inducted into the Eta Omicron chapter of Sigma Theta Tau in front of their friends and family.

“These individuals are among a distinguished group of individuals representing the essence of the society,” said Yvonne R. Serna, president of the Eta Omicron Chapter and clinical assistant professor in the College of Nursing and Health Sciences at Texas A&M University-Corpus Christi.

During the ceremony, each inductee received a lavender and white honorary cord, along with a ribbon from Chapter officers. Kyoung Eun “Kelly” Lee, Ph.D., MSN, WHCNP, RN, and assistant professor at Texas A&M-Corpus Christi, spoke to inductees on transformational leadership and service in nursing during her keynote address.

The mission of the only honorary society of nursing is to advance world health and celebrate nursing excellence in scholarship, leadership, and service. Eta Omicron is the local chapter of Sigma Theta Tau International. It was chartered in 1984 by A&M-Corpus Christi College of Nursing and Health Sciences faculty members. Membership consists of undergraduate and graduate students, as well as nurse leaders from the community.