Island University Alumni Honoree Awards and Athletic Hall of Honor Nominations are Open!

CORPUS CHRISTI, Texas – Each year, the National Islander Alumni Association and Islanders Athletics at Texas A&M University-Corpus Christi celebrate Islander alumni who positively impact both the University and their communities. The nomination process for 2019 nominees is now OPEN! If you know an outstanding Islander alumnus, submit your nomination for Distinguished Alumni Awards here and Athletic Hall of Honor here.

“We encourage you to nominate an alumnus for one of these awards,” said Russell Wagner, ‘08, executive director of Alumni Relations. “We know there are amazing Islanders doing great things and this is your opportunity to share their story with the rest of our Islander community.”  

The Distinguished Alumni Award categories include the following:

  • The Distinguished Alumni Award is given to an alumnus who has differentiated themselves by obtaining the highest level of professional accomplishment, and who possess the utmost integrity and character to positively reflect and enhance the prestige of the Island University.
  • The Outstanding Alumnus Award is given to an alumnus who exemplifies core values of excellence, integrity, leadership, loyalty, and respect through selfless service and excellence in their profession and career.
  • The Young Alumni Award is given to an alumnus who has separated themselves by obtaining a high level of accomplishment early in their career and who possess the highest standards of integrity and character.

Award recipients will be announced in December and tickets will be available for the 2019 Homecoming Honors Banquet at that time. Homecoming dates and events will be announced in November. 

“We are thrilled to continue our partnership with the Alumni Association and enhance the Homecoming experience for all involved,” said Travis M. Whipple, deputy director of Islander Athletics. “Now is the perfect time to nominate a team, student-athlete, coach or supporter of athletics for the Hall of Honor as we celebrate our 20th anniversary as a Division I program.”