A&M-Corpus Christi Faculty and Staff Among the 2018 Corpus Christi Under 40 Honorees

CORPUS CHRISTI, Texas – A mixer to publicly announce the 40 honorees for this year’s Corpus Christi Under 40 (CCU40) was held on March 28, at the Bend Magazine located in downtown Corpus Christi.

This is the 12th year for the awards, sponsored by Texas A&M University-Corpus Christi, in conjunction with the Young Business Professionals of the Coastal Bend. The title of CCU40 is awarded to young professionals who have made significant contributions in their professional fields as well as through service in the community. Four members of the Island University campus community were recognized at this year’s mixer.

The 2018 Texas A&M-Corpus Christi honorees include:
  • Andrea Amaya, academic advisor for the College of Nursing and Health Sciences
  • Dr. Xavier Gonzales, assistant professor in the Department of Life Sciences
  • Dr. Michelle Hunnicutt Hollenbaugh, assistant professor in the Department of Counseling & Educational Psychology
  • Dr. Sarah Scott, assistant professor in the Department of Social Sciences

Luis Sanchez and Jonathan Torres co-chair this year's CCU40 steering committee. CCU40 not only raises awareness of our young professional community, but it also gives a percentage of its proceeds to charity. The charity chosen to receive a portion of this year’s proceeds is Camp Aranzazu located in Rockport.

Those selected will be recognized at the CCU40 Awards Breakfast on Wednesday, May 2, at 7:30 a.m. at the Solomon P. Ortiz Center. Tickets and sponsorships go on sale Monday, April 2. To purchase tickets and sponsorships for the CCU40 Awards Breakfast, visit www.YBPCB.com/CCU40; or contact Russell Wagner at 361.825.2352.

The 2018 community honorees include:
  • James Aleman – Aleman Allstate Agency
  • Ashley Arevalo – Period Corpus Christi
  • Colton Bartel – Susann’s Custom Jewelers
  • Zoraida Basaldu – CITGO
  • Bill Bonilla – Bonilla & Chapa
  • Matthew Brennan – Fellowship of Oso Creek
  • Shannon Bumstead – Bumstead Properties & Associates
  • Christina Buttler – Coastal Bend Center for Independent Living
  • Jamie Copeland – Corpus Christi Independent School District
  • Justin Doss – CHRISTUS Spohn Health System
  • Coral Dworaczyk – Palm Bay Rentals & Sales
  • Derrick Escobedo – Johnson Controls
  • Courtney Gallion – Corpus Christi Medical Center
  • Heather Garcia – Sterling Personnel
  • Elizabeth Gibbens – Edward Jones
  • Erica Gonzalez – R.E.E. Inc.
  • Lori Gonzalez Ybarra – Lola’s Street Boutique
  • Claudia Huerta – Corpus Christi Convention and Visitors Bureau
  • Kimberly Johnson – Tuloso Midway Independent School District
  • Jamie Lynn Jones – Corpus Christi Independent School District
  • Jennifer Laclair – Prime Real Estate
  • Adam Lopez – Frost Bank
  • Marcus Lozano – Feathered Friends and Co
  • Nancy Madsen – Oh My Goodness Boutique
  • Kathryn Mills – Cindy Boudloche, Chapter 13 Trustee
  • Victoria Morales – Driscoll Health Plan
  • Shelby O’Brien – General Land Office
  • Dusty Oliveria
  • Heather Orr – TLC Medical Clinic & Code 3 ER Urgent Care
  • Ashley Ramirez – Coastal Bend Blood Center
  • Matthew Rodriguez – Davis, Hutchinson & Wilkerson, LLP
  • Parmveer Singh – Royal India Restaurant and Singh Education Services
  • Ryan Smith
  • Ashlee Struchen – CSA Marketing, SWEETEST SNAPS PHOTOGRAPHY
  • Randy Webb – RK webb LLC
  • Mayra Zamora – Mira Mayra Art