Each year history students compete for two departmental awards: the Joe B. Frantz Essay Contest and the Patrick J. Carroll Student Engagement Award.

The Joe B. Frantz Essay Prize recognizes the best history research paper in each of two categories: upper-division undergraduate students and graduate students.  It is awarded annually at the end of the Spring semester.  The monetary prize is $300 for best undergraduate paper and $450 for best graduate student paper.  For full guidelines, criteria, and nomination form, click here. Please contact the Frantz Professor of History if you have questions.  

The Patrick J. Carroll Student Engagement Award is given each year to the history undergraduate student who best typifies the values of intellectual, social, and civic engagement that Dr. Carroll typified over his long professional career.  The winner receives a $250 cash prize and has his or her name added to a plaque displayed in the Faculty Center.  For full guidelines click here.  For more information please contact the History Undergraduate Program Coordinator


award winners with professor



Dr. Carroll with 2019 Student Engagement, Award winners, Bridgette Ramirez and Amber Hullum