# Council of Principal Investigators and Research Administrators Monthly Meeting

## August 18, 2022, 11:00 am - 12:30 pm Zoom

#### **MINUTES**

**Attendees:** Jordan Greer, Erin Hill, Daniel Newmire, Tianxing Chu, Michael Starek, Gina Glanc, Ruby Mehrubeoglu, Alexa Hight, Carmen Osier, Patricia Spaniol-Mathews (Pat), Devon Steffan, Feiqin Xie, Deanna Crites, Xinping Hu, Pablo Rangel, Mike Wetz, Jian Sheng, Aaron Baxter, Mark Besonen, Trent Thigpen, Faye Bruun, Kyoung Eun (Kelly) Lee, Jennifer Epley Sanders, Heather DeGrande

**Absent:** Joseph Mollick, Patrick Crowley

#### **Alternates:**

Guests: Michael Sollitto, Cari Loeffler, Michelle Eisenman, Christina Loftin, Debra Plowman

### Quorum present

- **1. Guest Speaker(s):** Dr. Michael Sollitto, IRB Chair; Cari Loeffler, IRB Coordinator; Michelle Eisenman, Research Specialist II IRB; Christina Loftin, Research Specialist II IACUC and IBC.
  - 1. The new staff from R&I, that will be assisting with compliance, visited with CPIRA and introduced themselves.
  - 2. Discussion included how the new hires will support and better the current IRB, IACUC, and IBC **processes** and provide PIs with training.
- 2. Meeting called to order by Mike at 11:32 am.
- 3. Approve Meeting Agenda
  - MOTION: All in favor.
- 4. Approve June 2022 Meeting Minutes.
  - MOTION: All in favor.
- 5. Alternates/Guests introduced.
  - Debra Plowman, new CPIRA representative present.
- 6. Ex-Officio Faculty Senate Update(s) (Pablo)
  - 1. Michelle Hollenbaugh is the Speaker.
  - 2. CPIRA needs an ex-officio.
- 7. Ad-hoc Scholarly Librarian Update(s) (Alexa)
  - 1. OA funds will be given quarterly.
  - 2. Researchers are allowed one submission per quarter.
  - 3. Library asked for 48k this year. They received 30K last year in OA funds.
- 8. CPIRA Committee Updates
  - 1. Research Administration Development & Training
    - Committee needs a new Chair.

#### 2. <u>Facilities</u>

- Committee is prioritizing action items.
- Working on obtaining generators in NRC and CS.
- Pat is writing grants to upgrade campus facilities.
- 3. Operations & Communications for Sponsored Projects
  - Committee is researching alternate channels to communicate research on campus.
  - Committee needs a new Chair.
  - Erin and Trent are transferring CPIRA files to Teams.
- 4. Graduate Recruitment & Retention
  - Draft of survey data sent to committee.
  - Pat Spaniol-Mathews submitted a proposal that includes 20% of 3M would go to grad student tuition support.
- 5. Bylaws, Elections, Rules, & Procedures
  - Committee completed the election SOP.
  - Elections complete.
    - Nine (9) Council seats were up for vote.
    - One (1) RA seat is up.
  - Election Results Below:
  - Dr. Daniel Newmire replaced by Dr. Debra Plowman at COEHD, Term Expires 08.31.2025
  - Dr. Gina Glanc replaced by Dr. Shannon Fitzsimmons-Doolan at CLA, Term Expires 08.31.2025
  - Dr. Heather DeGrande got herself reelected at CONHS, Term Expires 08.31.2025
  - Dr. Feiqin Xie got himself reelected at COSE, Term Expires 08.31.2025
  - Trent Thigpen was reappointed at Research Engagement, Term Expires 08.31.2023
  - Dr. Tianxing Chu was reappointed at CBI, Term Expires 08.31.2025
  - Dr. Xinping Hu was reappointed at HRI, Term Expires 08.31.2025
  - Dr. Michael Wetz was reappointed at HRI, Term Expires 08.31.2025
  - Dr. Mark Besonen replaced by Dr. Matthew Streich. at HRI, Term Expires 08.31.2025
  - Jordan Greer was reappointed as Research Administrator at COSE, Term Expires 08.31.2025
  - Alexa Hight will remain Ad Hoc member for the Library
  - VOTE: Accept and approve new CPIRA Bylaw edits that clarify definition of PI, definition of RA, CBI and Lonestar fall under R&I, and TRCF grant recipients.
    - 1st Motion = Mike S.
    - 2<sup>nd</sup> Motion= Dan N.
    - All approved
- 6. Roles and Responsibilities
  - Committee completed edits to the matrix and sent it to OSRA

#### 9. Other Business

- 1. R&I Updates
  - I. R&I Staff
    - AVP for Research
      - Dr. Donaldson is the new AVPR and will be assisting with compliance.
    - OSRA Director
      - Kim Hawkenson is the new OSRA Director.
    - COS Dean
      - No update.
    - COE Dean

- Dr. Ma is the new Dean of Engineering.
- 2. Compliance
  - Discussion of recent compliance issues.
  - R&I is open to an external review of Compliance on campus.
  - Compliance Committee/Taskforce needs to be established in CPIRA.
  - Mike will send Mahdy an executive summary of compliance issues.
- 3. Impact of Faculty COVID-19 Survey
  - Survey is closed.
  - 130 responses.
  - Heather is working up survey data.
- 4. CPIRA FY23 Chair
  - Ruby Mehrubeoglu
- 5. CPIRA FY23 Vice-Chair
  - Jennifer Epley Sanders
- 6. CPIRA Website
  - Pat volunteered her graduate assistant to take over CPIRA's website.
  - Thank you to Trent for all the years of maintaining CPIRA's website.
- 7. Extend Meeting 5 minutes- All approved
- 8. <u>FDP Representative</u>
  - FDP needs a new representative.
  - Next meeting is 9/12/22-9/15/22.
- 9. <u>CPIRA Service Plaque for Mark Besonen</u>
  - Mike presented Mark with a plaque for his support and hard work he has given to CPIRA!
- 10. Council thanked Mike for his service as Chair.
- 10. Adjourn: 12:39 pm.
  - MOTION: All in favor.