Dr. Don Albrecht, VP of Student Engagement and Success, Honored by A&M System

Published: November 03, 2017

Dr. Don Albrecht, VP of Student Engagement and Success, Honored by A&M System

CORPUS CHRISTI, Texas – Dr. Don Albrecht, Vice President of Student Engagement and Success (SEAS) at Texas A&M University-Corpus Christi, was recognized with the highest honor bestowed by the College of Education and Human Development (CEHD) at Texas A&M University. The three-time Texas A&M alum received the 2017 Outstanding Alumni Award at a gala on Oct. 27, for his professional achievements and college-wide impact. Five alumni from CEHD were recognized at the event, which was held at the Annenberg Presidential Conference Center in College Station.

The Outstanding Alumni Award honors individuals who have made outstanding contributions in their chosen fields with significant impact, innovation and influence at the college, in their community and beyond.

“Don Albrecht is a remarkable leader across the A&M system and the state,” said Dr. James Hallmark, Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs for the Texas A&M University System. “When the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board needs a wise and balance perspective, Don is on their short list to call. Don’s leadership is evident in the positions he has held and the respect he is shown. He has devoted his career to student engagement and success.”

Albrecht joined the Island University as SEAS Vice President in 2012. The mission of SEAS is to create a supportive learning environment for personal and professional development and to prepare students for responsible citizenship and lifelong learning. SEAS strives for excellence in serving students, campus and community engagement, leadership development and inclusion. 

In his current position at the Island University, Albrecht also serves as a member of the President’s Cabinet, committee chair for the Financial Literacy Committee; Inclusive Excellence Committee; Expressive Activities Committee; Student Endowment Scholarship Committee; and SEAS Council.

“I am truly honored to be recognized by my alma mater with this alumni award,” said Albrecht. “I was fortunate to have had the guidance of many mentors and colleagues over the years who modeled ways to support student success and engagement. I am also very grateful for all the opportunities I have had to work with so many outstanding students.”

Other CEHD alumni honorees included Gayle Bellomy, Dr. Steven Furney, Dr. Brandon Macias and Dr. Henry Ostermann.