Headline for Featured Item #1 Nursing Leaders Honored During 'Celebrating a Legacy' - Texas A&M University-Corpus Christi
Texas A&M University Corpus Christi - Discover Your Island

Nursing Leaders Honored During 'Celebrating a Legacy'

May 08, 2013

  • DSC_0150
  • 050613 Celebrating the Legacy
  • DSC_0163
  • DSC_0135
  • aDSC_0125
  • aDSC_0107
  • aDSC_0087
  • aDSC_0062
  • aDSC_0052
  • aDSC_0038
  • aDSC_0021
  • aDSC_0106 copy
  • aDSC_0094 copy
  • aDSC_0075 copy
Celebrating legacy-350x232.jpg

CORPUS CHRISTI, Texas – The College of Nursing and Health Sciences (CONHS) hosted the “Celebrating a Legacy: Honoring the Leaders of the College of Nursing and Health Sciences” reception on Monday, May 6, in Island Hall.

The program marked the start of National Nurse’s Week and included a presentation that unveiled the portraits of each of the past and present leaders of the college. The honorees are: Dean Emeritus Ruth M. Bakke, Dr. Elizabeth A. Erkel, Dr. Noreen C. O’Neill, Dr. Susan A. Nelson, Dr. Rebecca A. Jones, and Founding Dean Mary Jane Hamilton.

“Over the last several decades, we have reached many goals to be proud of,” said Dr. Bunny Forgione, Associate Dean in the CONHS.  “We would not be where we are without the faculty that we have now, and the faculty that we have had in the past.”

After Dr. Elizabeth Sefcik, Professor in the CONHS, gave a brief history of each honoree, their portrait was unveiled by a family member or loved one.

Following the presentations, students lead tours of the new, state-of-the-art nursing labs.

Media Contact

Suggest a Story

Request Information about the Island University