DATE:  May 1, 2008
CONTACT: Ann DeGaish 361.825.2481; or Cassandra Hinojosa 361.825.2337
Winners of Leadership and Service Awards Recognized By Texas A&M-Corpus Christi Division of Student Affairs

CORPUS CHRISTI, Texas – Outstanding students, advisors and student organizations at Texas A&M University-Corpus Christi were recently honored during the Student Affairs Leadership and Service Awards ceremony.

Students, faculty and staff submitted nominations for the awards based on attributes including campus involvement, volunteerism and school spirit.

Award winners were:
Student Organization of the Year: Psychology Club – This award recognizes a student organization that engages in membership development, conference participation, organizational goal setting and achievement, fundraising efforts and community service. The organization also promotes Islander spirit and campus involvement.

Honors Student Association Advisor of the Year: Dr. Janis Haswell, professor of English and director of the University Honors Program – This award honors one student organization advisor for his or her energy, enthusiasm and outstanding abilities that are the backbone of successful and dynamic student organizations.

Emerging Leader Award: Eric Holguin, junior communications major – This award honors a student who exhibits leadership in campus activities, employment and/or volunteer service with the University.

Spirit Award: Jennifer Kotzur, junior political science and history major with music and psychology minors – This award recognizes the student who best demonstrates extraordinary school spirit and enthusiasm through participation in campus activities.

Impact Award: Newman Wong, senior sociology major – This award recognizes a student who has had a positive impact on the University through campus involvement, leadership and service.

Amigos de la Isla Award: Dr. Janet Tillinger, professor and department chair of Accounting and Business Law, and Sterling Kelly, SandDollars ID card specialist – This award honors one faculty member and one staff member who have gone above and beyond their roles on campus to accomplish goals and serve students.

Also honored were the Student Employee of the Year, the Division Class Ring recipient and recipients of the Division of Student Affairs Scholarship.

Student Employee of the Year – Selena Armendarez, senior communications major.

Division Class Ring – Cristina Dominguez, senior biology major.

The Division of Student Affairs Leadership Scholarship:
Jessica Block, sophomore marketing major; Robert Boscamp, junior theatre and public relations major; Rachelle Hackman, senior interdisciplinary studies major; Tiffany Herrera, senior biomedical sciences major; Kathleen Jones-Trebatoski, counselor education doctoral student; Phillip Levasseur, junior political science major; Lauren Loveless, freshman marketing major; Kaitlyn Morrow, senior biomedical sciences major; Clara Schwendeman, senior marketing major; and Eileen Suarez, junior communications major.