Home - Current News - Press Releases - Long-time University Supporter Melvyn N. Klein to be Honored

Press Releases 

DATE:  April 14, 2006       
CONTACT: Ellen Rossi, College of Business, (361) 825-6045; Melissa Goonan, Public Affairs, (361) 825-2337
BIO: Melvyn N. Klein

Long-time University Supporter Melvyn N. Klein to be Honored with the 2006 Kirkland Distinguished Visitor Award
Outstanding students will also be recognized at the annual ceremony

The College of Business (COB) at Texas A&M University-Corpus Christi will honor local businessman Melvyn N. Klein (Klein bio) as this year’s recipient of the G. Russell Kirkland Distinguished Visitor in Business Administration Award during the 2006 Honors Luncheon on Tuesday, April 18.

Klein will give a community lecture from 9:30 to 10:30 a.m. in the Performing Arts Center. Following the lecture, the COB will hold its annual Honors Luncheon at the Solomon P. Ortiz International Center, 402 Harbor Drive, where Klein and outstanding business students will be recognized.

Klein, the managing general partner of GKH Partners, L.P., president of JAKK Holding Corp., and founder of Melvyn N. Klein Interests, is a long-time supporter of the University. He was an adjunct professor at A&M-Corpus Christi where he taught entrepreneurship.  His long-term relationship with the University also includes serving on the President’s Council, giving three commencement addresses, being awarded an Honorary Doctorate of Humane Letters in 1997 and establishing the Melvyn N. Klein Scholarship for Writing and Communication. In 2005, he served as a member of the Search Committee that selected Dr. Flavius Killebrew as president of the University.

The G. Russell Kirkland Distinguished Visitor in Business Administration Award was created by friends of the late Mr. Kirkland and the University to honor Kirkland’s distinguished service to the University, the city of Corpus Christi, and South Texas. Recipients of the award are honored for their personal accomplishments, as well as for their contribution to the success of students, faculty, the University and the Corpus Christi community.

Previous recipients of the award include:
2005 Ruben Bonilla, Jr., Chairman of the Port of Corpus Christi Authority
2004 Joe V. Elizondo, Entrepreneur and Sole Proprietor, Greenwood Door Company
2003 Bernard A. Paulson, Chairman of the Board, TOR Minerals International, Inc.
2002 Wayne O. Stockseth, President and CEO, Parts Distributing Company
2001 Michael A. O’Connor, Chairman of the Board, Hanover Compressor Company
2000 Mr. Al Jones, President and CEO of American Bank
1999 Ms. Marion Luna Brem, President and CEO of Love Chrysler Plymouth
1998 Mr. Joe Fulton, CEO, Fulton Construction Corporation.
1997 Robert B. Rowlings, CEO, TRT Holdings, Inc.
1996 Thomas E. Dobson, CEO, Whataburger, Inc.
1995 Peter M. Holt, CEO, Holt Companies

Accomplishments of the college’s graduating students will also be recognized in three categories at the Honors Luncheon: M.B.A. students with a 4.0 GPA; B.B.A. students with highest honors with a 3.85 GPA or better; and B.B.A. students with honors for 3.75 GPA or better.

Return to top