DATE:  April 13, 2004
CONTACT: Joanna Czerwinski, Human Resources, (361) 825-2627; Steve Paschal, Public Affairs, (361) 825-2336

Texas A&M University-Corpus Christi Employees to be Honored at Eighth Annual Islander Awards Celebration
Seven with 30 years of service among the 162 employees to be recognized
Seven educators with a combined 210 years of service to the University are among the 162 Texas A&M University-Corpus Christi employees who will be honored at the eighth annual Islander Awards Celebration Friday, April 16 at1:30 p.m. in the University Center, Lone Star Ballroom.

Drs. Randell Drum, Leon Dube, William Huie Jr., Paul Orser Jr., Albert Trevino, John Tunnell Jr. and Robert Wiedermann have all worked at the University in various capacities since 1974 and will receive their 30-year pins from President Robert. R. Furgason. Another 155 employees with service ranging from five to 25 years will also be recognized. All service on the campus is counted, dating back to when the University was a private Baptist school
In addition to the service awards, the Staff Advisory Council will announce the three recipients of the 2004 Staff Excellence Awards. The winners, chosen from a list of 37 nominees, will receive a trophy and $500. Their names will be added to the award plaque in Corpus Christi Hall.